…And when I touched light at the ceiling of the Belleville tunnel, for an infinitely infinite feeling split of a second, which I had seemingly been waiting for an ultimately eternal life span;
and I felt their hollow eyes piercing my back cynically;
and I saw the dazzled looks on their pale, frigid, empty faces;
and I heard their thoughts stumbling over freshly grown branches of the unknown;
and I smelled their anger and frustration, caused by the uninvited guest I let run free and unchained, scaring the living dead and intruding into the vaults they had built of despair and hopelessness , forcing their facades to drop…

 

…All I could do was smile.

 

Freedom had set its foot over my doorstep.

 

Oh lost friend! How different was your face to all the faces I expected you to wear!
How good felt the invigorating, warm embrace of your sturdy arms!
How alive did I feel when your breath touched my heart and cut the strings my brain had grown to imprison it.

 

 

 

Words by Pia Petersson
Photography by Pia Petersson

One thought on “Light at the top of the tunnel

  1. I like pia, your words, i hope that you are fine in Paris, fine in all, almost. Paulo, the Aliocha room-mate in Lisboa.

    Like

Leave a comment